On December 11, 1931, a Charter was issued by the General Society of Mayflower Descendants for the formation of a Society of Mayflower Descendants in the State of Minnesota. The organizing meeting was convened on March 9, 1932, at the Minnesota Club in St. Paul by George Perkins Douglas, who was elected first Governor.

In the first years of the Minnesota Society, the membership was largely composed of the socially prominent and wealthy industrial and political families of the area. In fact, in the early years, the meetings of the Board of Assistants were hosted by the Governor at his own expense with luncheon meetings at various country clubs in the Twin Cities. The Annual Meetings were formal balls or “black tie” dinners. These factors tended to discourage the economic middle class until the end of World War II, when membership began to grow.

Today, the Minnesota Society has lost all class consciousness and formality has given way to fellowship of people aspiring to learn more about the Pilgrims and to educate others about the beliefs and goals of their Pilgrim ancestors.

First Slate of Officers:

Governor—Mr. George Perkins Douglas

Deputy Governor—Mr. Roger B. Shepard

Secretary—Mrs. Georgiana (Partridge) Noble

Treasurer—Mr. Carl R. Gray, Jr.

Historian—Mrs. Jennie A. (Holmes) Coolidge

Charter Members:

Mr. George Perkins Douglas
Mrs. Adelaide (Craig) Snyder
Mr. Roger B. Shepard
Mrs. Helen (Felt) Daniel

Mrs. Georgiana (Partridge) Noble
Miss Alice E. Perry

Mrs. Charlotte (Partridge) Ordway
Mr. Joseph H. Grant

Mr. Carl R. Gray
Mrs. Harry G. Fales
Mrs. Jennie A. (Holmes) Coolidge
Mrs. Mary (Daniel) Benedict

Mr. Frank L. Jennings
Mr. George H. Partridge

Mr. Maurice M. Moore
Miss Minerva L. Dickey

Mrs. Amanda (Cooley) Holbrook
Mrs. Mary Ellen (Bingham)
Mr. Herbert S. Lamerton
Mrs. Mary (Bull) Crocker
Mr. Homer P. Clark
Mrs. Dorothy M. (Hopkins) Quigley
Mrs. Eleanor (Field) Pillsbury
Mrs. Anna (McMillan) Shepard
Mrs. Katherine (McMillan) Beals
Mr. Samuel Shepherd
Mrs. Grace (Clark) Curry
Mr. Bertram Adams

Mrs. Winifred (Lewis) Putnam
Mr. Richard K. Smith

Mrs. Fannie Eliza (Colburn) Fernald
Mrs. Esther G. (Northrup) Becker

[The history of the Minnesota Society was prepared by Mrs. Marjorie B. Doty, Governor
 of Society of Mayflower Descendants in the State of Minnesota 1995-1997.]


George Perkins Douglas * 1932-1933

Carl Raymond Gray Jr. * 1933-1940

Clarence A. Cushman * 1940-1945

Mrs. Levi A. Pease * 1945-1946

Albert Harlan Parsons Houser * 1946-1949

John G. Ballord * 1949-1951

Warren A. Breckenridge * 1951-1953

Rev. Hayden A. Stright * 1953-1955

James A. Galbraith * 1955-1957

Dr. Rae T. LaVake * 1957-1959

Charles F. Alden * 1959-1962

F. Harvey Sturtevant * 1962-1963

Paul W. Latham * 1963-1965

Wright W. Brooks * 1965-1967

Henry F. Dever * 1967-1969

Harmon W. Ruliffson * 1969-1971

Evan M. Day * 1971-1973

Ezra Benhan Curry * 1973-1975

Robert V. Tarbox * 1975-1977

Clifford L. Jewett * 1977-1979

Mrs. Royce B. Hanson * 1979-1981

W. Herbert Doty 1981-1983

Robert B. Mirick * 1983-1985

Ross T. Dunlop 1985-1987

Richard L. Husband * 1987-1989

Mrs. Clifford H. (Janet) Tornstrom * 1989-1991

Mrs. Jay Dee (Joan) Yearous 1991-1993

Edwin N. Sheperd 1993-1995

Marjorie B. Doty * 1995-1997

Ora M. Norton* 1997-1999

Ruth J. Lofgren * 1999-200
Marjorie E. Heggestad 2002-2005

Lorraine Van Patten Link 2005-2008 

Lorraine Van Patten Link 2008-2011
Kenneth A. Veness 2011-2014

* The asterisk denotes deceased Governors

Powered by: Avallo Panel